Annual Holiday Home Tour in Historic Georgetown

2013 HOLIDAY TOUR SPONSORS

GHS is TRULY grateful for ALL our Sponsors!!  THANK YOU!!

PLATINUM Sponsors

  • Alex Fuller Law, PLLC
  • Gracy Title Company
  • Green Earth Builders, LLC
  • Kathy Herring 
  • Carolyn Holloway
  • Gretchen Johnston's Fine Art
  • Lone Star Properties - Nancy Knight
  • J. D. Neal, Jr., FLP
  • Myrna J. Rapp
  • Team Excellence - The Power of 4
  • Williamson County Sun

GOLD Sponsors

  • Bill & Linda Atlee
  • Bucking Bronco, LLC
  • Ellen Davis
  • Lone Star Real Estate
    Glenda Dubose
  • First Texas Bank
  • Framer's Gallery
  • Ouida W. Henderson
  • Kiersty Lombar – Keller Williams
    Representing the Best of WilCo
  • 2013 Olive Family Reunion
  • Paula Thomas Real Estate
  • West Short & Associates, PC

SILVER Sponsors

  • Jean Biggs
  • Burger University
  • Dady Insurance 
  • Loretta & Ron Gahagan
  • Galaxy Cupcakes & Bakery
  • Georgetown Title Company
  • Andrea & Tim Hammond
  • Sally & William Hunt
  • Donna Scarbrough Josey
  • Joan King
  • John F. Lewis, P.C.
  • Linda McCalla Interiors 
  • Rebecca & Sam Pfeister

BRONZE Sponsors

  • Martha Allen
  • Barbara & George Brightwell
  • Delores & Carl Doering
  • Ben Fiedler
  • Connie Fuller Real Estate
  • Kay Nell Harris
  • Sandra & James Montgomery
  • Charles Raynor
  • Esther Weir 

 

2013 HOLIDAY ACTIVITIES - Sponsored by Georgetown Heritage Society

DECEMBER 14th and 15th - 2013 Holiday  Tour of Homes & Buildings 

The Holiday Home Tour - one of Georgetown’s landmark events, attracted approximately 1,300 visitors. This year’s theme centered around the marriage of old and new with emphasis on respect for historical significance and ways to integrate heritage with modern living.  This year's self-guided tour provided an inside look into exceptional historic and contemporary properties in the area. Tours of each house were provided by docents educated in historical information dating back to the 1800s. Docents also provided details on furniture and collections within the properties.

DECEMBER 14th - 2nd Pajamas & Pancakes Breakfast 

Children and adults dressed in their best holiday pajamas decorated pancakes, enjoyed story time with Mary Beth Huba, and holiday photos taken by Todd White Photography. Donna Josey offered coloring books to children as a commemorative gift.


The following historic properties were showcased during the 2013 Holiday Tour of Homes & Buildings

MARESH / RACKET STORE BUILDING
ca. 1880
120 Eighth Street

The oldest structure remaining on this block, the Racket Store-Maresh Building was constructed around 1880. It has served a number of purposes over the years, including tailor and dyeing shop, boarding house, grocer, sewing machine store, tin shop, the first Georgetown Railroad office, Democratic Party Headquarters, attorney’s office and is now a personal residence. This hand-hewn rubble stone building was once covered in stucco until late Williamson County Judge Tim Maresh restored the building in 1981 – a restoration that marked the beginning of the Square’s revitalization, with other property owners following suit in the coming years.

   

THE JOHN H. REEDY  HOME
1898 to 1900
 
908 University Avenue

This two story wood framed home is an elegant example of late Victorian architecture with a one bay porch hip roof and Doric columns. Built circa 1909 by Professor John Reedy, a Southwestern chemistry professor, the home later became home to  Kappa Sigma Fraternity and eventually served as a boarding house during WWII. Purchased by a local banker in 1980, it has undergone two renovations, and this is the first time to be on the Holiday Tour.

   

ROY & LILLIE CULLEN BUILDING
ca. 1900
1001 University Avenue

The oldest building on the campus, Southwestern University’s Roy and Lillie Cullen building, (1898-1900) exhibits influences of Romanesque and Gothic Revival styles. Dominated by a four-story square tower with multiple tiered-stone spires on the corners and dormers, it is constructed of locally quarried limestone—the  same Scottish stonecutters who worked on the Texas Capitol oversaw masonry work on this building.

   

WESLEY C. VADEN HOME
ca. 1908 
711 Univerity Avenue

Completed in 1908 by Belford Lumber Company, this house was designed by its first owner, Wesley Carroll Vaden. The unique asymmetrical home with a stunning elliptical arch, wrap-around balcony and large louvered windows was a reflection of Vaden’s eclectic and worldly taste. With multiple original coal-burning fireplaces, exquisite woodworking, and period antiques, the home-turned-office retains its Victorian charm.

 

   

JONES / MILBURN HOME
Built in 1904

407 Myrtle Street

Originally built in 1904, the Milburn home came from humble beginnings. Originally, the small frame house had just two bedrooms and a detached kitchen. Former owners remodeled the home several times through the decades, including the addition of an interior kitchen and more recently a wing of three bedrooms and a full bath. As the current owners embarked upon a sizable remodel and addition two years ago, they found a note hand-written by a carpenter that read, “G.A. Jones built this closet – October 12, 1904 and it was hard as hell.” This craftsman style home features simple woodwork, high ceilings, and personal touches that make it both unique and welcoming

 

GRACE HERITAGE CENTER
ca. 1881

811 South Main

Contact Us